Roofing Nailer – How to Choose the Best One

If you are trying to decide which roofing nailer to select, you’ve come to the best place! But first, without a doubt a little story many times interesting…

I remember the sick feeling I’d as I watched my completely new roofing nailer slide from the roof and smash to the concrete walkway below. Hiking down the ladder in order to retrieve it, I fully expected to locate a bunch of shattered items.

It was my first shingle job like a roofing contractor, and I couldn’t afford to replace a fresh nail gun.

To my personal surprise, the roofing nailer was still successfully. In fact, it barely had a scratch onto it. And to my complete amazement… It still proved helpful perfectly!

It’s moments like this which create the extreme loyalty craftsmen have for any certain tool. You could sell me another brand until you’re blue within the face, but it isn’t gonna happen! I’ll quit my nail gun whenever you pry my cold lifeless fingers off it!

In determining the very best roofing nailer to obtain, you have quite a variety. When I started roof covering, twenty-some years ago, there were just a few nailers to compare. Right now (if my depend is correct), you’ve got a choice of 38 can make and models.

I don’t know associated with anyone who’s done a comprehensive test of every roofing nailer available on the market. It’s not a standard consumer product that gets lots of scrutiny.

The best test I have found was done by Paul Guertin, who is the builder and author within Rhode Island. He field-tested 11 of the very popular models on heavyweight shingles, that have been laid over 5/8″ sheathing in cold temperature, as well as much more moderate temperatures. That’s a great test, because those are tough conditions for any roofing nailer.

Mr. Guertin carefully examined each roofing nailer to compare the different features. Then he centered on which nailers had probably the most power, least recoil as well as fastest speed. Those are a few of the main factors which create a tough job a small easier.

Each nail weapon had it’s strengths as well as weaknesses, but there was a three-way tie for top roofing nailer. They had been the Bostitch RN46, the Dewalt D51321 and also the Hitachi NV45AB2.

I’m not really surprised the Hitachi created the cut. It’s the nailer of preference for many professional roofers, who enjoy it for its toughness as well as reliability. Mr. Guertin said you can probably drive an 18-wheeler over this tool also it would still work!

I often agree with that, because this is the roofing nailer which made it the fall and… We still use today!

Check more Nailgun Reviews in Top Nailers Review.

Leave a Reply

